Assessment 2: Window Pain

Window Pain, 2016, By Jade Hall 

An eery audio piece created by Hunter Manuel,  left me feeling as if I was lurking behind a window in an abandoned building. Similar to Robert Santefede, a Still life photographer, I explored the way in which life itself can be portrayed from behind a window. In using different windows around the abandoned building I was able to explore different perspectives using lighting control which added to the ambiguous audio created by Hunter. Challenging the perception of framing through old windows, I worked closely with angles, close-ups, extreme close-ups, focus and lighting to create a mood that replicates the audio. Shooting in black and white created clarity within the photo, while highlighting specific features of the windows that I was particularly interested in showcasing, this also allowed me to manipulate depth of field.

 

Leave a Reply

