W11-Tedious Prototyping

During the last few weeks I have been working on my game design in depth through tedious prototyping. Although I haven’t gotten to the play testing stage of the game, the design of the game is extremely technical and unique to the market in regards to the transformation from digital back to analogue gaming. Through Marshall McLuhan’s concept  we can see the light (the medium) as a message through its use of space and environment as its critical function in playing the game.

I have overcome many issues in regards to 3D modelling this game. The first, being the scaling of the shapes as well as the thickness in order for the printer to efficiently print the base, hence the graft which you can see in the below images to ensure that the 3D printed lantern doesn’t stick to the machine (it ensures an easier and cleaner removal.)

After making a number of different models, it became clear that the height as well as the shapes that were being projected had to be strategically created to ensure that the shapes being printed were clear enough to be copied during the game by each player. The model that you see above took 4.5 hours to print. The initial draft took 20 mins because I had scaled the size of it from Tinkercad. One of the main advantages of this was the ability to go back through and rescale from 20mmx20mm to reprint another draft which is the perfect size (90mmx90mm) This also allowed me to test out the particular shapes that I have used in regards to the light projection and whether they were defined enough to be recognised once projected. One thing that I will have to change after printing this model is the lid which will have to be extended upwards. The lid will have to sit higher than originally anticipated in order for the light direction to project the shapes clearly. Below is my initial design of my lantern lid.

Screen Shot 2017-04-15 at 1.15.05 pm
Design mock for lid for the lantern

My diagrams can be seen in the below images when dealing with the light in regards to Newtons prism experiment which reflects the reason to change the height of the original mock up:

image-2-png1.jpegimage-png1.jpeg

image-1-1-png.jpeg

As you can see in previous weeks my design has been worked on early and I am still not 100% finished with this design. My aim therefore is to create the lid and ensure that I can create at least 1 lantern to test and play with to ensure that the angle of the light can project the shape etc.

I have many ideas to make this prototype better, which includes having panels of different shapes, patterns and images which can be changed like slides. Instead of having a fixed box. Therefore coding the structure with interchangeable slides. Here are some examples.

Overall I am extremely happy with my progress and will continue to tweak the issues with the hopes of introducing the product to the market within the near future once I can design the main lantern. I also believe that my prototyping has acted like my play testing stage throughout the weeks because I have constantly been showing different people and getting multiple opinions of how my game works through the piece I have created. All of these opinions have been documented within my dossier which has allowed me to build on different functions that need to be added and also the different features which I could add or change which I hadn’t of thought about.

Over the last few nights I have been tediously measuring my distance of light while also researching about Newtons prism theory. With a 45 degree trajectory,  the opposite angle should equal the same in regards to the light being easily distributed/projected. I have also taken apart a battery operated fairy light pack, cut the wires and refused them to create one led fairy light that can be switched on and off and is small enough to be inserted inside the lid, once constructed. This also allows for the batteries to be easily changed by the players if needed creating a game that can be easily self maintained.

Playtesting Notes: 

file.jpeg

Watch this space for more updates!

Leave a Reply

